cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

Help modeling boat hull in sheetmetal

jgiles
1-Newbie

Help modeling boat hull in sheetmetal

Hello I am rather new to working with the sheetmetal feature in creo/pro e and was looking for some help in modeling a boat hull. I am trying to bend the shape below to match the photo attached any help with how to accomplish this would be very much appreciated. The two curved lines should meet and transition into the flat part of the hull bottom.

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
16 REPLIES 16
DHLewis
11-Garnet
(To:jgiles)

Joshua,

Others might have some other methods, but I think this application might lend itself to modeling the final desired shape as a solid all formed up and then doing a Sheetmetal Conversion to get the flat state of the model. In the Sheetmetal conversion, you can define the ripping places to get your flat shape.

I too would work with a solid model if all you want is the boat hull and not try fabricating it.

Boundary Blend will make the bottom and some strategic sweeps will make the ribs. Build the side and back wall, then close it up with another boundary blend. If you are lucky, you can then shell the hull. Finish with some additional sweeps and rounds.

If you have good orthographic images of boat, you can use these as underlays for guides.