cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

How to Flatten Quilt a Semi-Spherical Surface

ptc-4536672
1-Newbie

How to Flatten Quilt a Semi-Spherical Surface

Hi there Guys,
I'm a industrial designer and new Creo Parametric 2.0 user. In fact, i'm testing CREO to implement it in the company I work for.
We are a Pressure Vessel Designer and Manufacturer so, most of our pruducts will need the feature I'm looking for.

I'm trying to flatten quilt a semi-spherical surface so I can define the size of the plate to be used in the manufacture of a Vessel Head. Obviously, The area of a Sphere suface is a known area, but I'm just using it as an exemple. Vessel head will have Semieliptical, torispherical, and some other forms with more than one radius and etc. Also I don't know if i'm using the correct feature. I was able to flatten and curved surface, but not a domed one. Can anyone help me?

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
7 REPLIES 7

In the real world you cannot flatten a domed part without significantly stretching the material (at the circumference), it is a non-developable surface. Likewise you cannot create a domed part from a flat piece of sheetmetal without stamping/deep-drawing it.