cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Stay updated on what is happening on the PTC Community by subscribing to PTC Community Announcements. X

How to 'fly through' a model

messenger
1-Newbie

How to 'fly through' a model

I am fairly new to PTC and Creo. I learned 3D modeling with Autodesk Inventor a couple of years ago and find myself running into situations where "I know how to do it in Inventor," but I'm not sure how to convince Creo to act the same way. One such instance is with Inventor's "Perspective View." It allows the user to not only change the field of view, but also 'fly through' the model. This 'fly through' functionality is what I'm REALLY missing in Creo. I want to be able to find, and reference, internal geometry with the click of one button again (without hiding, sectioning, activating, etc.). How can I do this in Creo?

12 REPLIES 12

If you have the learning connector, you can have it search for Fly-Through and it has some good info.

I'm not sure it will do what you want, though.

I found the following here: http://www.ptc.com/WCMS/files/77175/en/WC_10_Practical_Guide_FIRST_ROBOTICS.pdf

Creo View lets you use the mouse and keyboard to easily navigate in the viewer. There are two navigation modes:

fly-through and inspection.

o

Fly-through mode allows you to interactively fly around a 3D component to view that object from different depths and angles. You can think of this like moving your head, where a slide to the left moves the head to the left, with in the object in the view moving to the right. You use the middle mouse button (Alt + right mouse button for a two-button mouse) to fly.

o

Inspection mode is like holding an object in your hand and viewing it from different angles. This mode is the default. You use the right mouse button to spin the viewed object.