cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

How to remove assumed 'wall' when mirroring extrusion?

cbraithwaite
1-Newbie

How to remove assumed 'wall' when mirroring extrusion?

Im creating a part which is symmetrical so I have mirrored all the extrusions however where it has done so Creo has created a wall/mass along the datum. How can I remove this mass or alter the mirror so this does not happen?

Im new to Creo

Thanks for any help.

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
5 REPLIES 5

A picture might be in order here. This doesn't sound like typical behavior.

Welcome to the forum, Cameron.

I agree, an image or two would help.

However, a more reliable way to create a symmetric part is to build one entire half of the part and then mirror the part itself by selecting the part at the top of the tree and then selecting mirror. Mirroring (or copying) individual features "locks" the parent feature, limiting how it can be redefined. New references cannot be chosen without deleting the mirrored copy first.

That may not help this specific situation, however it will result in a more robust and flexible part.

--
Doug Schaefer | Experienced Mechanical Design Engineer
LinkedIn

Hi Doug,