cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

MAIN_ASSEMBL_TRANS.mpg

JohnF
4-Participant

MAIN_ASSEMBL_TRANS.mpg

I am learning how to animate, this is my first attempt, however I cannot get the chain to move as there is no chain in mechanisms.  I am sure a belt would animate but this old gearbox had to transmit a large amount of torque hence the duplex chain. Anyone with any ideas please comment.

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
7 REPLIES 7
TomU
23-Emerald IV
(To:JohnF)

TomU
23-Emerald IV

TomD.inPDX
17-Peridot

Very nice work, John.  I remember discussing this when you posted the drawing.

If you can get one link to drag along a path and somehow link it up to a servo motor, you can get the chain to move.

My earlier attempts at this did not allow me to control velocity.  Only the Mechanism dynamic extension has a slot motor which would be perfect for this application.

JohnF
4-Participant

Hi

Find posted my, and Tim Brotherhood’s, completed chain assembly, if you can do anything with it let me know.

Cheers JohnF

JohnF
4-Participant

TomD its posted as Duplex Chain.zip

TomD.inPDX
17-Peridot

I can look but it is probably academic version, right?

Somewhere I have a small file where the technique is illustrated.