cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need help navigating or using the PTC Community? Contact the community team. X

Need to build repetitive curve in a sketch

pimm
14-Alexandrite

Need to build repetitive curve in a sketch

I am needing to build a sketch that the curve needs to follow an exact pattern.  I have attached a sketch that shows the basic curvature. (As it is freehand the shape is not exact however)

pattern.JPG

The pattern of curvature needs to follow a point placement like this.  The initial point is at X=0 and Y=+.06.  The second point on the curve would be X=+.5 and Y=-.06.  The 3rd point on the curve would be X=1 and Y=.06.  Etc...

I want to build a curve where I don't have to manually enter the dimensions as the size will extend for close to 50 inches.

My initial thought would be that Relations might be the way to go, but I have no experience with this and don't know if it would be capable of what I am looking to do.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Roy_Crerar
11-Garnet
(To:pimm)

I'll try again tomorrow. Trying to remember the formula just now.

X= 40*(t*720)
Y= 4*sin*(t*360)
Z=0

In this case 40 is the wavelength.
720 is 2 cycles
I think 4 is amplitude for y
Z is zero because it's in a single plane.

Difficult when not in front of a car screen to check.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
pimm
14-Alexandrite

Still looking this over online.  I haven't pieced this together but I am now wondering whether this can be done as a relation at all within a sketch.

I am seeing examples how using a variable section sweep can influence different shapes but haven't seen a simple straight line oscillating curve that would result in the basic sweep shape of the curve on my initial post.

Roy_Crerar
11-Garnet

HI, Use curve from equation.

Datum\Curve\curve from equation. Example can be tailored from below.

pimm
14-Alexandrite