cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to build repetitive curve in a sketch

SOLVED
Amethyst

Need to build repetitive curve in a sketch

I am needing to build a sketch that the curve needs to follow an exact pattern.  I have attached a sketch that shows the basic curvature. (As it is freehand the shape is not exact however)

pattern.JPG

The pattern of curvature needs to follow a point placement like this.  The initial point is at X=0 and Y=+.06.  The second point on the curve would be X=+.5 and Y=-.06.  The 3rd point on the curve would be X=1 and Y=.06.  Etc...

I want to build a curve where I don't have to manually enter the dimensions as the size will extend for close to 50 inches.

My initial thought would be that Relations might be the way to go, but I have no experience with this and don't know if it would be capable of what I am looking to do.

Tags (1)
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Need to build repetitive curve in a sketch

I'll try again tomorrow. Trying to remember the formula just now.

X= 40*(t*720)
Y= 4*sin*(t*360)
Z=0

In this case 40 is the wavelength.
720 is 2 cycles
I think 4 is amplitude for y
Z is zero because it's in a single plane.

Difficult when not in front of a car screen to check.
10 REPLIES 10

Still looking this over online.  I haven't pieced this together but I am now wondering whether this can be done as a relation at all within a sketch.

I am seeing examples how using a variable section sweep can influence different shapes but haven't seen a simple straight line oscillating curve that would result in the basic sweep shape of the curve on my initial post.

HI, Use curve from equation.

Datum\Curve\curve from equation. Example can be tailored from below.

Rcrerar-2:  The images you attached aren't showing.  I will see if I can find the location you are suggesting but if there is an easy way to see these images it would be great.