cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

Opening Creo Parametric 4.0 files in 3.0

shacvet
1-Newbie

Opening Creo Parametric 4.0 files in 3.0

Greeting, 

I am a Mechanical Engineering student in San Diego taking a course in Engineering Drawing. I have personally downloaded a student version of Creo 4.0 to complete my assignments for the class. My professor is using Creo 3.0 Education Edition and is unable to see any of my work that I have completed. 

Is there a way for him to just view my work, part and drawing files, in Creo 3.0? 

Thank you kindly,

J. Shawn Cvetezar

9 REPLIES 9
BenLoosli
23-Emerald II
(To:shacvet)

Very simple answer is NO.

Not sure if the educational version supports GCRI, but that is only for models, not drawings.

One of you needs to change to the version used by the other, and it should be the professor!

The professor may be teaching a Creo 3 course and may have to wait for the school to be authorized/licensed to move to Creo 4 under the PTC Academic program and to update any school computers.

It's pretty common for people to think that all programs work just like Microsoft Office and allow the ability to save in older formats**, because that's the office group they used before. It is a shock that this is rarely true and I don't know who should be one to carry that information. Microsoft is forced into this position as it would have trouble selling that all users have to upgrade simultaneously. I don't know the details of the Academic program, but I expect a student is only allowed the latest Academic version; even if not, they would not be prepared for the difference.