cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

Redefine Datum Planes

dwright-2
1-Newbie

Redefine Datum Planes

As I have stated before I am new to CREO and have only been using it about 2 months. I have a file that we obtained from one of our chassis suppliers and the datum planes are inconsistent with the way I need to use the chassis that is in the file. The side view in the attached file has the cab of the chassis pointing down and I need to rotate it 90 degrees clockwise where the chassis has the wheels down and is parallel to what would be the ground. How do I redefine the planes to what I need?

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Doug, I think you need to read the help section on view orientation. There is too much to cover to create a tutorial for it here. I'm guessing that is the problem as the spin center is also turned 90 degrees. If it is that the model is assembled incorrectly, then you'll need to redefine the assembly. The datum planes have nothing to do with this.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Dale_Rosema
23-Emerald III
(To:dwright-2)

There are a couple of ways. You could go in and edit the constraints on the cab, but if any of the constraints on the following subassemblies do not reference the cab, but the primary datums, you may have issues.