cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Shell problem

moorton
2-Guest

Shell problem

Hi there, I am new to creo and trying to modell some things for practice.( i am used to solidworks) I am currently modelling a washcloth. But i encounter a problem I want to shell on both sides. But in order to do so i need a split line on the place the curve is added. I added some images to explain. Thank you in advance.Capture.PNGIMG_20180504_144701.jpgIMG_20180504_144705.jpg

4 REPLIES 4
dgschaefer
21-Topaz II
(To:moorton)

You aren't going to be able to easily use the shell feature for this.  This is a case where multibody modeling like SW has can be handy, you can build two different solids, shell each and then merge them. Not possible in Creo, however.

The only way is to build one "half", shell it and then add the other and try to shell it.  However, Creo is going to want to try to extend the second shell into the rest of the part. It's likely to fail, unfortunately.

You may need to use offset surfaces and a solidify feature to create the second "shell".  You'll make a copy of the outside surfaces, offset that quilt and then solidify it as a cut.

You can also try shelling all from the one side, then use regular features to remove the other surface adn fill in the opposite side.

--
Doug Schaefer | Experienced Mechanical Design Engineer
LinkedIn

Shell is a very useful feature but you find that you want to use it earlier in the process that you would prefer.

I find it useful to consider modeling parts such as this in surface/quilt geometry and follow up with a thicken feature.

I would add the smaller features and details after that if the thicken feature is a greater thickness than the detail feature.