cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can change your system assigned username to something more personal in your community settings. X

UDF Problem, advice?

rpatterson-2
6-Contributor

UDF Problem, advice?

I'm new to creating user defined features, but I'm been muddling through and I've hit an interesting roadblock which I can't seem to get by. Upon insertion of the UDF into my "parent" part, I've noticed that a partial list of the relations that govern the model that my UDF was based on gets copied into the new model, but they're all /* (remmed out). The relations are a list of If / Endif statements that drive groove width and depth of cut, and when they're copied into the new model, all of the closing "Endif" lines are gone.

The UDF is designed to insert snap ring grooves into a shaft; the driving dimensions are user inputs for Shaft OD and Offset Distance. This is set up from the Program:

VERSION 5.0

REVNUM 3416

LISTING FOR PART EXT_SNAP_RING

INPUT

SHAFT_OD NUMBER

OFFSET_DISTANCE NUMBER

END INPUT

I've got relations that will determine the depth of cut and groove width for various different sizes of shaft OD (here are a couple of those relations)

D48=SHAFT_OD

IF SHAFT_OD==8

SR_GROOVE_DOC=0.2

SR_GROOVE_WIDTH=0.9

ENDIF

IF (SHAFT_OD <= 10 && 9 <= SHAFT_OD)

SR_GROOVE_DOC=0.2

SR_GROOVE_WIDTH=1.1

ENDIF

The part from which I made my UDF, "ext_snap_ring.prt" functions well. By this I mean that upon regeneration values are requested for the shaft od and snap ring offset distance, and the model updates accordingly. I had hoped to be able to write a mapkey that will invoke this UDF, add the required relations and the feature. It doesn't work quite as planned.