cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will a Pro-e user ever expand to 3D Direct CAD, or is he stuck in a parametric mindset?

Re: Will a Pro-e user ever expand to 3D Direct CAD, or is he stuck in a parametric mindset?

@James Osborn

I just learned more about Direct Modeling from your post than I have from all the videos and information I can find on PTC's site.

I have been using Pro/E (Parametric Modeling) for over 16+ years. I never understood what Direct Modeling was or how it could fit into our process. I started to understand more and more about it, but never from an actual user who had real world experience with it.

I think it's exciting to see Parametric and Direct Modeling working together in CREO. I can see where our company would use Direct Modeling for some things and Parametric Modeling for others. Using them together, I think is a good way to get the best out of both system in order to improve our process.

I appreciate the information you shared and I am looking forward in learning more about the Direct Modeling approach. I have always been open minded about learning new things, so it's never a problem for me to sit back and learn something different.

I have a question for you.

Do you think having the Parametric Modeling App and Direct Modeling App in CREO is the best way to do things, or would you rather see CREO allow for both modeling systems in one package?

As it stands right now, it seems I will need to purchase Direct Modeling Apps for everyone in our process that could benefit more by this approach and have Parametric Modeling Apps for the others. I can see where many of my users could use both and now I have to buy more licenses (Apps). 😞

Just wondering what your thoughts are on this.

Thanks

Highlighted

Re: Will a Pro-e user ever expand to 3D Direct CAD, or is he stuck in a parametric mindset?

Hi James