cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

thread milling

Mickyd1
1-Newbie

thread milling

Hi guys

I've got to do some thread milling on a job but I've never done any before,any helpful advice would be appreciated regarding parameters etc.

Thanks mick

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
17 REPLIES 17

SteveLucas
13-Aquamarine
(To:Mickyd1)

Mick,

what type of thread internal external or npt? single point or multi thread threadmills The threadmilling routine is fairly simple to use since Creo1.

Here are the parameters I use for a 1/4 -18 npt multi thread thread mill in steel.250-18npt+parameters1.JPG

250-18npt+parameters2.JPG

I circled the best parameter which is the start from hole axis. That used to be a pain in the butt as well as multiple passes but now in Creo 2 it's painless.

Steve

Steve,

I have used the threadmilling sequence several times (Only internal threads btw) but was never able to use it in combination with the cutcom option. Did you ever worked with this before? It would be helpful to use this option while i changed the diameter several times to get the right size in diameter, but when the cutcom option is working you can change that at the machine.

Best regards,

Paul

Cutter comp works in threadmilling. Just make sure you have a leadin leadout set and turned on.

threadmill+cutter+comp.JPG