cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

CID Creation Tutorials

JS_10231171
2-Guest

CID Creation Tutorials

Hello,

I've been using Schematic for about 3 months now....slowly getting acclimated.

I want to learn how to use the circuit diagram feature of Schematic, but the overall support for this very lacking.

Does anyone have a guide that they have used for this?

Some of the things that I would like to learn:

• How to create circuit diagram components with Wiring diagram connectors (mating connectors to the CID components)
  • How to create a WID from the CID

Thank you

3 REPLIES 3

Hi,

you can find info about CID/WID in the help  center topic About Creating a CID to WID Design . 

in CID/WID design you need to set the following :  

• mates_with parameter - this parameter hold the value to look for in order to find the the mate connector in the catalog 
  • in options dialog , Design tab -> you need to set the parameter name which hold above value (in which parameter Creo Schematics will look for the above value) , i.e. : 

gklebanski_0-1654496067343.png

in this example , Creo Schematics will look for mate connector which have the value defined in mates_with (in the component) in parameter part_number (in the connector) 

• num_of pins - if defined in connector Dataset - connector will b created with proper number of pins (members/ports)

Creating WID from CID :

read topic  About Placing Component Wiring Shapes and the topics following it . 

Gaby

BillF
13-Aquamarine
(To:JS_10231171)

Consider joining the "tech committee" for routed systems.  We have monthly peer to peer discussions among the users.

https://ptcusergroups.ptcuser.org/organizations/category/Technical%20Committee/page/2?order=name.asc

BillF
13-Aquamarine
(To:JS_10231171)