cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Dear experts in fasteners simulation : Bolt with friction

verneinvirgile
6-Contributor

Dear experts in fasteners simulation : Bolt with friction

Dear Forum , I'm a french teacher an I used to use CREO 5.0.3.0. I built a course about fastener design and calculs and I would like to show to students the link between calculus ans simulation , for introduce parameters to the students , I've chosen to use a simple model , 2 parts joined with a blot 

verneinvirgile_0-1588340355126.png

When I perform a simulation with a axial force I find the same results as the calculation (I've join the PDF in french ) 

Now I want to perform a simulation with a tangential force ,   

verneinvirgile_0-1588340355126.png

And now It's more complexe, 

I Anchor the pink part , I apply a tangentiel force (500 N) on the yellow part . 

This is  bolt définition with a preload of 8000 N 

bolt defintion.PNG

I define a interface with a infinite friction and a friction indicator at 0.5 

interface .PNG

the analyse settings 

analyse settings .PNG

and here are all the results 

resultats .PNG

Result analyse : to do simple , the preload is 8000 and the indicator is 0,5 , in theory the max tang force will be 4000 N before slipping. 

the fastener shear force is low but about 10N , weird ... and the slippage is present ,  it could not be 

If I read that from CREO : 

Create Slippage Indicators—Creates three slippage indicator measures. It is available for selection only if you select the Infinite option for friction. All the slippage measures are created automatically. For a frictionless interface, no slippage measures are created.