cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

FEA - Tubing result issues

ptc-108889
6-Contributor

FEA - Tubing result issues

Good day gentlemen,

I am fairly new to FEA analysis and could not find answers to my questions online.

I need to do a structural analysis of a assembly made of tubing but the results I get are concerning so I went back to basics. When I do the FEA of a beam, the results are as expected but when comes to tubing the results are worrisome.

Here are the results I get for a cantilever beam (left) and tube (right). Force is -50lbf, beam/size is 4x2x10FEA-Beam-vs-tube.JPG

The local stress/deformation skyrocket and make me wondering what I am doing wrong for the tube.

Is it the way I apply the force? constraints? or something else I do not understand?

Attached of my files in CREO 2

Again, your wisdom is more than welcome.

Thanks,

D

8 REPLIES 8

Cap the tube and see if the results are more agreeable.

The deformed results look correct for the loading. You have put what was a high load for a solid block onto a thin wall; If you were to make a similar shape of aluminum foil it would fail just that way.

ptc-108889
6-Contributor
(To:dschenken)

Hi Dschenken,

Thank you for you input.

Here are the changes I made:

• Capped both ends.
  • Moved the force to the cap surface so it does not crush the edge.

Results are slightly better but still off. Based on hand calculations the max stress should be around 341 psi and a the total deflection around .00056 in. The stress peak of 541 psi is localized but is there a setting or rule of thumb you use in CREO to ignore local stress and yet have results in line with hand calculations?This analysis is simple but when comes assembly it may be hard to figure out what to ignore.