cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Isolate selected components in assembly

cchenfoo
1-Newbie

Isolate selected components in assembly

Hi,

I am a beginner in creo.  In previous cad software which i used (inventor and solidworks), I can easily isolate the components in assy environment, but in creo I cant find a proper way to do it. I search around the web, which I find a poor way which is: select the components you want to isolate --> representation--> master. But this method cant longer be used once you are in another simp representation mode. So please advice the fastest way or at least the efficient way to perform the 'isolate' function since me and my colleague use "isolate" function quite frequent when need to modify part feature in assembly environment.

21 REPLIES 21
rohit_rajan
13-Aquamarine
(To:cchenfoo)

1. kindly stop thinking Solidworks and Inventor way..to work better in Creo.

2.yes you are right, the master option works only once, after using it ones you can further use the exclude option to remove the component/components which you do not want.

3. Solidworks and Inventor were made with ease of use in mind, the would always be better in ease of use.

Sadly, this is not possible at the moment with Creo, using GUI only.

You can tell Creo to search for all parts, and exclude them all from rep using find tool within a mapkey. But how to store selected parts as a selection set upfront to set them to master representation afterwards? Propably only with an API.

Has anyone ever bothered coding anything like that?