cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

Simulation help

Br2
3-Visitor
3-Visitor

Simulation help

Running Creo 4.0 and I'd like to run a stress/strain or failure analysis on this part. This is my first attempt at a simulations.  I have viewed some tutorial videos and PTC courses, but I haven't found a comparable situation yet. 

The part bears against a post for 60-70% of the upper length of the part.  It is pinned by the 2 screws shown.  I know that the failure typically is across the middle of the lower screw but I can't replicate in simulate. 

Any help would be appreciated. 

Thanks

2019-12-03_11-55-06.png

5 REPLIES 5
gfraulini
17-Peridot
(To:Br2)

Hi,

frankly I struggle to well understand which you've explained.

How does exactly this bit work? Which is the Z's direction? The material?

May you attach the assembly?

Bye

Br2
3-Visitor
3-Visitor
(To:gfraulini)

What we're experiencing is failure of the red part by users pulling against the engaged latch.  The location that the part fails across the bottom screw.  This happens to be where there is the least cross sectional area.  Ideally I would like to do a comparative analysis the old part and the part I've revised.  I've added material in 3 directions.  I expect the part to fail in the same location, but I would like to see how much additional force it requires with the added material.   It is cast alum, ADC12.

The only file I was allowed to attach was a .zip

some additional information in picture below

2019-12-04_8-01-56.png

SweetPeasHub
17-Peridot

Hi,

Are you trying to model only the red latch-plate part?  Or the whole assembly with screws, frame, latch-plate?