cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

Spring idealisation and contact interface

Harry_
5-Regular Member

Spring idealisation and contact interface

Hi Every one,
I am new to Creosim.
I am trying to simplify a connection using combination of spring idealisation and contact interface.
Two separate parts are assembled with these connections in parallel.
When the connection is under compression, we have contact and spring is compressed. When the connection is under tension the contact is released and there is no force for the spring.
1. I am not sure if is it possible to have contact between spring end and second part ? Ifound for the contact we need a surface, so do I need to define a surface between spring and second part or it is possible to have contact interface between a point and a body?

Because of number of conections I am looking for a quick and easy method. Only I am looking for the force at connection when it is under compression.

Any help is appreciated.
4 REPLIES 4