cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

FBX, pivot and animation

bobweb
3-Visitor

FBX, pivot and animation

Hello,

I am a beginner using Vuforia Studio and Creo Illustrate, I usually use 3ds Max. So for learning I wanted to create an easy example: Create a box, that opens its lid when clicking on it. Not far in I already bumped against several walls, maybe more experienced people here can give me a hint or two:

- Box and lid are simple polygon objects, the pivot of the lid is placed correctly at the hinge in 3ds Max, I have animated the lid to open, they have Standard materials, no textures

- I used FBX as an export format, default AME settings

- Vuforia Studio imports the geometry and the basic materials, animation is unfortunately ignored (feature request!)

- So I learned the only ways for animation is cumbersome javascript or Creo Illustrate. So I installed Creo and new problems arise: The pivot point of the lid is ignored, it is always at the center. I see the button for changing it manually, but it does not do anything. I could not change the pivot in creo. How does this work? It is quite frustrating when you have 3ds Max at your fingertips and have to animate with Powerpoint... 😉

- I see how Vuforia Studio makes all the technical stuff easier, like building and connecting 2D interfaces, managing markers and such - but is there really no artist-friendly possibility for making it look nice? No lighting, shading, reflection environment etc.? Well, unless you know how to code OpenGL shaders manually, I guess. Or is there something I have missed?

- Well, maybe I am better off learning Unity and use the Vuforia plugin there. Or are there disadvantages as well?

Thanks a lot,

Bob

7 REPLIES 7
sdidier
17-Peridot
(To:bobweb)