cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

4.0 Issue with Creo Agent and Windchill

vu2877
4-Participant

4.0 Issue with Creo Agent and Windchill

Hi, I am a student using an academic license of Creo 4.0 M030 with Windows 10. When ever I open Creo, I get error message about Creo Agent not initializing correctly. Offline actions work fine, but I can't use Windchill. Windchill is critical to my work and I need it back as soon as possible. This problem began when I upgraded from creo 3.0 to 4.0. Important things to note are: I confirmed that "creoagent.exe" is running when ever Creo is open; manually restarting this program, found in the PTC folder of my Program Files, doesn't help. Reinstalling all of Creo including the Agent doesn't help. Interestingly, in programs and features, Creo Agent does not show up as an installed program as it did in Creo 3.0. Editing enviroment variables, as suggested by this thread doesn't help. The steps in this obscure pdf didn't help either.

6 REPLIES 6
awei
3-Visitor
(To:vu2877)

4.0 installs a new version of Creo Agent versus 3.0. You'll notice in Program and Features that there should be PTC Creo Platform Agent 3.133, which is used in 3.0, and PTC Creo 4 Platform Services, which is used in 4.0.

If creoagent.exe is in fact running with 4.0, I'd check whether it's actually the correct one. I use Process Explorer from Sysinternals, check the properties of the executable, and make sure that it's pointing to the correct one.