cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - When posting, your subject should be specific and summarize your question. Here are some additional tips on asking a great question. X

Creo 2 and Creo 3 running on the same laptop?

pmoore-2
1-Newbie

Creo 2 and Creo 3 running on the same laptop?

As a trainer I need to have different versions of Creo on my laptop.

Is it possible to run both Creo2 and Creo3 on the same laptop without any licensing issues?

19 REPLIES 19

Right now I have Pro/E WF 4.0, WF5, and all Creo releases (from 1.0 to 3.0) installed on my laptop, all running without any problems. All versions are set up to use different startup folders with different config.pro files.

One thing you might consider is changing default AppData folder (%appdata%\Roaming\PTC\ProENGINEER\Wildfire\.Settings, IIRC) for them, because by default all installs will use the same one, so you might have Creo UI customizations common to all Creo versions. You can change location of this folder using PTC_WF_ROOT environment variable for every Creo version you have installed.

There is also no problem with parallel running two different versions of Creo, so you might be running Creo 2.0 and Creo 3.0 simultaneously. All you need is proper number of licenses - if you have only one license you'll be able to run one instance of software, but still be able to run Creo 2.0 and Creo 3.0, just not at once.

Lukasz

Thanks for your input, will give it a try

Many may not believe it but i finally got Creo 3.0 M020 on my machine with Creo 2.0 still running.

Creo 3.0 picked up my menu customization from Creo 2.0. I hope this will remain stable if I only update the UI from Creo 2.0. Time will tell.