cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

Managing Large Assemblies and Large Assembly Drawings

carguy333
1-Newbie

Managing Large Assemblies and Large Assembly Drawings

Hello PTC Community,

First let me start off by saying thanks to anyone who has contributed to this site! This resource has been extremely helpful. I work for a small tech startup and our mechanical engineering staff is 3 people strong and resources are a premium. Not to mention we don't have the ability to purchase advanced packages like piping/cabling, mechanica, or windchill and we certainly don't have the funds to send our design staff to get training from PTC or one of it's affiliated training resource centers. Thus, most of us are self taught and this site is an immensely helpful tool.

I have two questions pertaining to large assemblies and large assembly drawings. I have made use of a lot of the tools on the modeling side in order to lighten up my top level assembly. I've used simplified reps, merged solids, and shrinkwraps in order to make my 3D models more manageable and this seems to have worked. However, these techniques do not translate when I move over to the drawing. Opening the drawing takes fair bit of time, ten minutes or more. Creating views is a pain staking task. By the time I create a view, orient it, select the rep, and align it, placing a sinlge view takes five or minutes. So here are my questions:

1. Are these load times and regenration times normal? Does anyone have some tips and tricks for managing large assemblies? What about tips for setting up my config.pro file. It feels like when I open the drawing it becomes extremely taxing on the system like it immediately grabs the master rep and it doesn't matter what's in session...