cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

PTC Proxy Configuration: Connection failed

mcumbie
1-Newbie

PTC Proxy Configuration: Connection failed

I am new to the PTC Creo Direct Modeling Express 6.0 setup, and downloaded this free single user CAD tool to get started with making 3D objects. I choose the 64-bit version, and installed on my Windows 8.1 machine. After installing, I want to start the program, and it asked me to activate for new users. After registering for an account with PTC, I then attempted to activate, and get the following:

Connection failed.

For Modeling Express to automatically activate,

it requires access to the internet. Please check if a proxy has to be specified, and enter your company's proxy server details so that the activation can proceed.

I don't have any proxy settings in my browser, and am on a home network behind a NetGear wireless router. I do have access to the internet, and can't seem to determine why I am getting this message. Has anyone else seen this before? Any idea what I need to do to get PTC to see the internet?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

9 REPLIES 9
dgschaefer
21-Topaz II
(To:mcumbie)

I think there's a specific community for PTC Creo Direct Modeling Express 6.0, but I can't find it.  Ryan Kelley‌, can you move this to the right community where he can get the help he needs?

--
Doug Schaefer | Experienced Mechanical Design Engineer
LinkedIn

Thanks for notifying me, Doug. I've moved this discussion into our Modeling Express - English space.

There is currently a general issue with the PTC License Server.

See: PTC License Server for Creo Elements Direct Express dead/removed?

This issue has been addressed and resolved: PTC License Server for Creo Elements Direct Express dead/removed?

Hi,