cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Transferring license to the same PC

PB_10567672
4-Participant

Transferring license to the same PC

Hi all,

We currently have a PC in desperate need of upgrading to Windows 10.

I have two drives inside, one boots Windows 7 (HDD) with a working, licensed Creo installation, the other is on Windows 10 (SSD) - this currently has Creo 4.0 'Parametric Simulate Direct Layout' (as it says on the back of the DVD box) , but I cannot get the license to work despite requesting a new one from the license portal on the website.

So, I'd just like to know if the procedure to transfer the license is any different? It has the same MAC address, but the computer has a different host name (edit - NOT a different domain name!). I'm quite new to the organisation and there's no documentation on how this was installed previously,. The guides I've watched don't really cover whether or not this will work.

Any tips on the procedure for doing this with minimal downtime would be really appreciated. I did try calling but it was very difficult to navigate and couldn't find anyone to speak to.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@PB_10567672 wrote:

Hi Martin, thanks for the helpful response. I do believe I've already tried this, but I was getting a "license request failed for feature"

So, I will uninstall Creo, but to check, do I just copy that file from the Windows 7 folder, amend the hostname and paste it into the same Windows 10 folder then run Creo? Or do I still need to follow the file import feature on Flexnet? This is what I tried, but it failed.

Hi,

• uninstall Creo
  • uninstall FLEXnet
  • now you have clean Windows 10
  • save license file into any directory
  • put correct computername to SERVER line in license file