cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - If community subscription notifications are filling up your inbox you can set up a daily digest and get all your notifications in a single email. X

Why is Creo3 so old-fashioned?

kpedersen
1-Newbie

It reminds me of CAD programs that are 10-12 years old.

Can you install an add-in that can optimize the program? 🙂

19 REPLIES 19
BenLoosli
23-Emerald II
(To:kpedersen)

We would love to hear your opinion on what YOU think is an up-to-date CAD program.

Also, if you think Creo3 is old-fashioned, state WHY you think so. Nothing is gained by making a negatory comment without reasons why!

If you are new to Creo3, what is your prior CAD experience, if any?

I have been using CAD for almost 40 years, Applicon, Computervision Cadds4/4X, CATIA V5, Unigraphics 2/UG NX for 20 years, SolidWorks, Pro/Engineer since 2001 and maybe some others along the way.

I've used many other cad systems. (>30 years)

I used ProE back in 20001-2003, it was not user intuitive, when compared to Solidworks, Catia V5, Inventor, and another in-house developed program.

I'm now using Creo 3.0, and I'm surprised by the lack of new development work on the user interface.  It takes several mouse clicks/holdkey (Ctrl or Alt) to accomplish what can be done in one or two mouse clicks in the others.  The ribbon requires you to make more selections to access a similar command.  I've also found out using the same extra-large assemblies is no better in Creo 3.0 than SolidWorks 2016.  Each has it's own Idiosyncrasies, but the fact that it takes longer (more user inputs) to do an operation in Creo 3.0 than in others, means it is not conducive to doing things fast.  I.M.H.O.

But what a CAD programs for you is new-fashioned? We're all intrigued.

We have worked with Creo for a long time.

We think that everything is better in for example SolidWorks 2016.