cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

responsive design of experience

robins1306
6-Contributor

responsive design of experience

Hi, I am a newbie in Thingworx Studio. I have my first experience running on a tablet. That works fine. But on a Smartphone, it is not working. Obviously because I didn't pay attention to a "responsive design". Unfortunately I cant find much information and maybe tutorials related to this. Can someone share valuable links, documents, with which i can teach myself how to do it?

I dont know how the pixel size, determined in the Canvas interfere with the design. If i want to develop it both for a tablet and smartphone, what do I start with? Which pixel size? 

So please feel free to share any content, that can help me. Thank you in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jmikesell
15-Moonstone
(To:robins1306)

So in Preview you can switch devices to simulate what your experience will look like on various sized devices (also landscape vs. portrait, which is critical). As for making it responsive you can use all allowable CSS units including relative lengths like vw, vh, em, %. Use of these will help you scale your 2D objects to the viewport.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
bwhelan
12-Amethyst

Hi,

Perhaps it is just a simple matter of changing the Minimum Screen Width setting in the Info Editor in Studio? If set to tablet, you may have an issue viewing on a smart phone. Just change this and re-publish to see if this is the issue?

Regards,

Brian

robins1306
6-Contributor
(To:bwhelan)

Hi Brian,

no unfortunately its not. This setting is already at 320 dp. 

What I will try now is to set, as seen in the picture the size to 100% and adapt all inputs, tables and so on accordingly. Maybe this will work.