Click the user name of a friend to see the friend'sAboutuser namepage.
Click Friends to add to the list.
The friends list is intended to be a one-way interaction (unless you speak with someone in the community or via PM about the functionality). Think of it like adding someone to your contact list.
You can see everything that displays as public information to non-friends in the image below. Anything else is considered private information and does not display for regular community members. The items that are configurable in My Settings > Personal Information can be displayed to friends via Preferences > Privacy. Some of the items in the Personal Information tab - like Personal Notes - will never show to other community members.
Note:You can remove a person from your Friend's List by clicking "Unfriend". Additionally, you can click "Ignore" to prevent specific users from contacting you.