In Windchill 11, if you select to reuse local content when doing an update, the modifications to an earlier version will be snapped to the latest version. This could allow someone to easily inadvertently overwrite changes made in the latest version. This was not the case in Windchill 10.2. I would like a preference that controls whether the changes are snapped to the latest version or the users receives a conflict.
The current Windchill 11 functionality:
- User has old version in their workspace and makes a modification (maybe they just save layer changes)
- File in workspace is now shown as out of date and modified:
- User selects file to update and uses the reuse icon:
Version number in the workspace is updated to the latest but the content file is NOT replaced so user can now check in. This makes using the reuse icon very dangerous so we have told users not to use it. But with it defaulting to download, it is easy for the user to overwrite files they have changed. So there is no good option...
I would like a preference that would go back to the Windchill 10.2 functionality. If reuse is selected for an out of date version that is modified, the update gives a conflict and the user must decide to either keep their changes or update to the latest version.