cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automatically lock an object in workspace and CAD after "check-in" or "undo checkout"

Automatically lock an object in workspace and CAD after "check-in" or "undo checkout"

With the preference "Automatically lock objects added to workspace" objects are also prevented from modification in the CAD session until they are checked-out (or they are manually unlocked).

It is important to lock objects in workspace and in CAD session automatically also after "check-in" or "undo checkout" in addition to the given state (eg. work and released) so that a user can see if it is allowed to modify an object in the CAD session, especially in CED Modeling.

1 Comment
Bedrock

For Creo Elements/Direct Modeling, you have this behaviour if the locatioin of your workspace is different from the initail context the workspace was created on. This does not makes sense, because you want it to work like this no matter how you create your workspace.

in addition to this, you can't even trace back where your workspace was orginally created, because if you change the location, the workspace location changes in all displayed links.

So create a workspace on context A, check in -> no lock. Set it to the location B, check in -> lock. Change it back to A , checkin -> no lock.

verry confusing for the end user.

The only workaround is that you use the intial context name in the name of the workspace, so you know what might be expected .

As I said, it should always work like you describt.