cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Change the preference "Automatically lock objects added to workspace" to also make the files read-only in the CAD session.

Change the preference "Automatically lock objects added to workspace" to also make the files read-only in the CAD session.

Change the preference "Automatically lock objects added to workspace" to also make the files read-only in the CAD session. The lock objects in the workspace is very ineffective because the only consequence of setting it is a warning box that pops up telling the user that the file is read-only in the workspace, which when they press OK modifies it anyway. That is barely different from the popup to check out the object. In both cases they end up with a modified object in the workspace that is probably released and cannot be checked in.

If the CAD was made read-only in the CAD session it tries to prevent the problem at its source.  The CAD software would not be trying to save over the files in the first place. For instance saving an assembly often tries to save the dependents, and would be prevented by a read-only setting. If the user tries to save over the file, the save as dialog will appear trying to force them to save it as something else.

7 Comments
Emerald I
Aquamarine

Courtney,

We don't see the same behavior here.  Pro/Intralink 10.2 M030.  When we set "Automatically lock objects added to workspace" to yes, the objects are locked in the WS when added, and they cannot be modified in Creo Parametric.  Most of the actions in the ribbons are actually grayed out, and cannot be used.  If the user does try to modify the model when locked, the conflict dialog appears with no options except to close the dialog box.  The user has to unlock the model to modify it.  We've created mapkeys and added them to the quick access bar to allow the users to quickly lock or unlock models in session.

I didn't test the preference in earlier versions of WC, so I cannot speak to whether this has always been the behavior or not.  For 10.2, it's working as expected.

Regards,

Dan N.

Visitor

Dan, that is good to know. I did not test CREO, but looks like it would be good to set it for my CREO users. PTC has a better integration with their own products, so it is not surprising that CREO has a more effective lock.

I tested with SolidWorks and posted the request based on it. I have Inventor as well, so will try to test it when I get a chance and post the results. I suspect it will behave the same as SolidWorks does.

Newbie

Hi Courtney,

We use Windchill with Inventor here at our company and I have found that sometimes the lock works as intended (everything is greyed out and cant be modified) and sometimes it just gives that read only dialog box when going to save something. We are running WC11 with Inventor 2016. Have you had any luck with locking files with CAD programs other than CREO?

Thanks,

Ryan W.

Visitor

I have been meaning to test this for some time so did so today. On 10.2, they have set the files to read-only when locked so that the CAD software does not try to save over it. I tested with SolidWorks, and should check CREO, Inventor, and SolidEdge, but it sounds like Inventor works now too from your comments. SolidWorks did prompt to do a save as on attempt to save a locked file. I don't see the gray out you mention in the workspace though. Perhaps that was added in 11.

Based on the results I think they have fixed this one.

Newbie

My issue is that it only works some of the time. Sometimes when files are locked, they are greyed out in the CAD application and I cant modify them until they are unlocked (which is exactly what I want). Sometimes when they are locked, they aren't greyed out in the CAD application and I can modify them, and it gives me that "This file is read only" dialog box when it wants to save the file, and saves the file anyways. Have you experienced anything similar with Solidworks?

Visitor

For SolidWorks it says [Read-only] in the header next to the filename. Nothing prevents the user from modifying it in session.

When they attempt to save it, it pops up the window below if referenced by other objects. Otherwise it just pops up the Windows Save dialog. If Save as is chosen, again the Windows Save dialog appears.

In the Save dialog: If they try to save it as the same filename (save over it) it blocks them, stating the file is read-only.