cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Completed WorkItem "Warning"

Completed WorkItem "Warning"

I realize that when viewing a WorkItem, there is a "status" attribute.  The problem is that some users just don't read it.  There has long been an issue when users open a WorkItem via a link from an email, or have their WorkItem table view set to "Closed."  They don't notice "Status: Completed," so they ask IT/Support why they can't do their work.

My idea proposal is broken into two complementing parts, which are certainly open to criticism and improvement.

1. When viewing the details page for a WorkItem that either a) has already been completed, or b) cannot be completed, first display a page telling the user that this is the case, that they are viewing legacy data, etc.

2. Create a Preference to manage (enable/disable) this behavior.

2 Comments
Newbie

I'm actually surprised this hasn't gotten more attention and it actually just came up in the PTCUSER conference discussion.  When a task is assigned emails may go out to several users.  If one of them completes the task (assuming Any is the option), every other user that follows the link to the Work Item gets a message that the object no longer exists.  At a minimum it would be helpful if the page displayed some notification to the user that the assignment was already completed and by whom.

Community Manager
Status changed to: Archived