cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Delete option for product/library in Windchill

Delete option for product/library in Windchill

Windchill is not having delete option for products. But it is present for projects.

There might be some cases where user by mistake create any product in Windchill and then wants to delete that. As currently there is no option for deletion, that product remains as it is in Windchill.

Loss of data present in that product will be major concern here, but if we can give some constraint to users that they need to move/purge data before deletion and should not allow then to delete it until they do this, then data loss issue also would not there. Also user should resolve all access policies related to that product before deleting it.

6 Comments
Sapphire I

Products are usually tangible things, so once created, why would you delete one?

Projects are a collection of tasks or objects to be worked on. When completed, deleting the project is ok.

IF Product delete is implemented, a requirement shall be that all files and folders under that product have been moved to another Product before the Product container itself can be deleted.

What I have done when we set up some containers then changed our mind was to just rename them until we needed a new Product and then renamed it again to the new product.

Amethyst

I definately see a need for this type of functionality in Windchill for many reasons products not created correctly, or if a company were to sell off products and that data needs to be completely removed from the originating system. It just makes good housekeeping sense to help keep the system lean and usable.

Community Manager
Status changed to: Acknowledged
 
Moonstone
Looks like a duplicate or similar request: https://community.ptc.com/t5/Windchill-Ideas/Remove-Products-and-Libraries/idc-p/575707 At a minimum, it would be nice to have the option to virtually delete it from the interface, even if it doesn't actually go away or "Hide" Product and cut off Team access. I'm ok with Org and Site admins seeing them if the goal was to prevent data from being permanently stuck behind the scenes. One of the issues we have is when a product is made incorrectly. Say you use shared teams, you use the wrong shared team - Time to make a new product. You forget to click the checkbox for "extend shared team locally" - Time to make a new product. There's no way to correct these issues so a tiny slip up can cause a new product to be useless. The big problem with removing access is if you use shared teams, you can't remove the shared teams so they forever see the product unless you put in specific ACL's to block their access.
Regular Member

Another issue I see is this recommendation from Windchill about modifying a product template, creates a new product that you don't actually want.

 

https://www.ptc.com/en/support/article?n=CS20918&source=snippet

 

Surely, there should be a way to modify a template without creating a whole context that you do not require, or if there is not, please allow us to delete the offending product created by this process.

 

There really needs to be something that allows site administrators to delete contexts. I have found numerous reasons for this need. One of them is the obvious cleaning up of products and libraries that were not setup correctly and were abandoned OR products/libraries that people created for test purposes that they should not have. Not every site we manage has a development instance of Windchill PDMLink because it is not in the budget for an extra license of Oracle and OS licenses.

 

I currently am in a situation where I am separating a project off onto its own instance in another location. They only have three products and two libraries in the system that occupy probably 300 GB of data. Re-hosting would be the easiest path forward; however, in the entire instance there are over 20 libraries and 60 products that total over 7 TB of data. There is no way of deleting the unrelated contexts after re-hosting so this becomes more complicated than it should be.