cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disable Universal Upload

Disable Universal Upload

We would like the ability to disable the new Universal Upload functionality in Windchill 10.2 and Creo 2.0. We have found that modified objects that were not checked out can now be uploaded and there is no visual cue alerting the user as there was in the past.

7 Comments
Sapphire II

Can you provide more details on this?

Is the user an admin or normal user?

Is the uploaded file released and the user have read-only status to released objects?

Uploaded doesn't bother me but the system should not allow that object to be checked in.

Many times you may download an object, modify it and then save without checking it out for a concept. We have auto-upload enabled so it would be uploaded without the user requesting an upload.

Participant

The is a normal user and the file is not released and the users cannot modify released objects.

We have ran into issues with users not realizing the had not checked out uploading changing the state and then not being able to check in. Having the ability to disable the Universal Upload and enable the visual cue has was in 10.1 would satisfy all involved.

Regular Member

Setting dm_upload_objects to Explicit will completely remove the automatic upload to server side workspace.

Participant

Hi Saravanan,

The option dm_upload_objects explicit still lets a user upload the modified non checked out object.

I just tested, it may stop the automatic upload of objects?

I am looking for an way to disable the upload of modified non-checked out objects.

Thanks for your reply.

Regular Member

Hello John,

For better understanding, please see the below articles.
https://support.ptc.com/appserver/cs/view/solution.jsp?n=CS162384

https://support.ptc.com/appserver/cs/view/solution.jsp?n=CS169565

HTH.

Thanks,

Saravanan

Regular Member

Hello,

we will move very soon to 10.2 and I see the Universal Upload functionality very critical as well. There is a huge potential that users unintentionally overwrite data on the Server. Not sure whether these concerns are unfounded. Does anybody have pratical expirience with this new functionality   ?

I assume that there will be still no chnace to disable this function ?

Thanks,

Klaus

Moonstone

Uploading locally modified objects is a good thing to have because it backs up what the user has done, and that is one of the primary purposes to a data management system.  Not uploading has been a weakness of WC for a long time.

 

So the problem does not seem to be that it is backing them up (which is a good thing), but that it does NOT provide an adequately visual cue that these are Released items that cannot change.  If you start an idea asking that there be a better visual cue, then I think that would be a better fix to the problem, and I would vote for that one as I do see a value to this, especially to more basic users.