cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Provide a preference to set "Create a New Session" as default when launch Creo View

Provide a preference to set "Create a New Session" as default when launch Creo View

Hi Experts,

        This Enhancement Request is submitted on behalf of customer "RUNNER (XIAMEN) CORP"

        Currently, if a Creo View session is already launched from browser, then the popup window will be displayed when user try to open another Representation, ask user to choose "Add to Current Session" or "Create a new Session".

         But for some users, they always want select "Create a new Session", so is it possible to develop a preference, by setting this preference, no Popup windows will be displayed, and always Creo View is launched as a new Session, so user do no need to select and click ok, help to reduce user efforts

Thanks

Sun Yi

2 Comments
RL_9397696
3-Visitor
Great idea
rkassmeyer
5-Regular Member

This preference choice would be very useful for our company.  We have a nifty little ThingWorx Mashup fired from Creo View that will allow users to quickly open a drawing, back into Creo View, of a selected assembly item (sub-assembly or part).

 

First, the extra pick simply slows down everything and secondly we developed another ThingWorx Mashup fired from Creo View while the user is viewing the drawing with new Annotations that allows very simple Annotation saving (auto-named) and associating that Annotation to a Change Request.  If the user does not create a new session, the Annotation gets saved back to the assembly instead of the drawing.

 

This causes disconnect between the Annotation and the Change Request.

 

All Annotations created in one session with many items displayed, will save back to the first item opened.  (Perhaps this is really the true bug.)  If we could set a preference to "Always create a New Session", this issue would be always avoided, a simple fix.

 

The user could always override the deployed preference when they want to open two 3D items in one session.