In Windchill PDMLink 10.2 the "Open in Creo" action from the embedded browser in Commonspace overwrites files in the Workspace that have been modified, but are not checked out, without any warning or choice by the user (see Case 12783222).
There are many cases where CAD users may utilize the local and server-side workspaces to store and back up (upload) locally modified files that contain concept/experimental changes to files that are already released. This is typical when the Design user is analyzing potential changes and determining whether or not to submit a formal change request to modify released data. If locally modified files are overwritten from Commonspace without warning significant work could be lost with a very detrimental impact of both time loss and perception of the tool.
Currently, no warning message is received before locally modified files are overwritten in the scenario described. The primary request of this Product Idea is to either:
Reuse locally modified content in the Workspace by default with an alert message to the user rather than overwriting, or
Provide a warning/choice to the user before overwriting the locally modified content