What is a cache? A temporary, volatile, and expendable storage area so the same data doesn't need to be downloaded repeatedly. So why is Creo saving its files there when it's connected to Windchill? Whenever anything goes wrong, tech support says to delete the cache. That deletes your saved work, too! There are times you cannot access your work because the cache is messed up and has to be deleted to even launch Creo, so PTC then points you to a user created recovery tool.