cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

update Checked Out by information in workspace upon Reload or Refresh of workspace

update Checked Out by information in workspace upon Reload or Refresh of workspace

As an engineer you want to use the latest possible information , specifically when working in a team.

This includes knowing whether an object in your workspace has been check out by somebody, if you have the lateste or an outdated version of the object, if the object has been renamed, etc.

The General Status in the workspace shows if a document has been checked out by another user.

However, this checked out by ... information is not updated with a workspace reload or refresh, as you expect as en engineer (instead you would need to do some extra click as to Synchroinze the workspace 😞 )

Enabling an update of checked out by information upon reload /refresh of thwe workspace would imporve user efficiency as well reduce frustration of engineers when they find out that the object has been checked out alreday after finishing their modocifcations.

3 Comments
Sapphire I

Have to say no to this change. The functionality already exists with Synchronize Workspace.

Refresh the browser is a browser function and does no data transmittal to the Windchill server. Synchronize Workspace dooes the data update from the server by design.

There are many times when you want a refresh with no synchronization.

Alexandrite

Workspace Refresh has been enhanced in Windchill 10.2 and Creo 2.0 to capture many status changes including such events as when an item has been checked out by another user.  The dependency or usage of the Synchronize action to keep your workspace information up to date has been greatly reduced as a result.

Newbie

But a Reload of the Workspace (not a Refresh) should show the Status information!

The Object knows very well about his state (use RMB and see the available commands: they depend on the CS-State). Why is it not possible to show this information? Minimum time in Preference Manger is 1800 sec.and has to be enabled in the site.

If the user has to press Extras - Synchronize to see the state, he already knows, that there are some changes....