If an entire document is checked in or versioned and the nodes it contains have upstream traces, then these upstream traces are also transferred to the versioned item. If a node is versioned one by one, then the upstream trace is removed. Downstream traces, on the other hand, are kept. The user does not get any information that his upstream traces are not transferred but simply disappeared in the versioned item. PTC R&D believes that this functionality works as desired, so I request the following change:
When versioning a single or multiple nodes that have upstream traces, the user should be informed that upstream traces are present and that he may lose them.
on the user's request, these upstream traces should be tracked by the tool and the user should be offered to version all nodes linked by traces in order to include the traces in the version.
the administrator should be given the possibility to recognize via triggers whether a node is versioned individually or in the document context (because without this recognition, the functionality desired above cannot be provided by triggers).