cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

Access and permissions

Markh74
8-Gravel

Access and permissions

Good day

I am new to Windchill and I have the following question.

If I login as wcadmin then I am able to create a new part, set the attributes etc.

If I login as a user then that option is not available.

What permissions do I need to set to allow that user or users access to create a part.

Regards

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jbailey
17-Peridot
(To:Srikanth1)

Windchill Advanced or Windchill Premium are the licenses required to create wtparts

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3

Hi!

This might be a good place to get started: https://support.ptc.com/help/wnc/r12.1.1.0/en/index.html#page/Windchill_Help_Center/policyadmin/PolicyAdminPermissionAbout.html

At a high level, you would have Roles in a Context (i.e. Product or Library). Assign users to the appropriate Roles.

You define Access Control Lists (ACLs) for the Roles across the different Contexts. See: https://support.ptc.com/help/wnc/r12.1.1.0/en/index.html#page/Windchill_Help_Center/accesscontrol_chp/AccessControlChp_HowACLsWork.html

The user should get the access granted by the Role in the Context. So, if they are in a Role that is configured to allow creating parts, they should be able to do so.

Hope that helps!

Srikanth1
12-Amethyst
(To:Markh74)

Adding to Joe's response:
Please note you have to consider assigning appropriate/role-complimenting user license to enable the capabilities in UI. Refer Site--Utilities--License Management for more details. They have the license and capability mapping on the information pages of each license.