cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I configure WC like ProI3.4?

kbrault1
1-Newbie

Can I configure WC like ProI3.4?

Hello everyone,


Our current 3.4 system the users are allowed to save modified objects to the workspace that are at the “Released” release level and thus are read only.


With 9.1 ProE is forced to “Revise and Checkout” before any files can be saved.


Has anyone figured out a work around to being forced to “Revise” a model in order to save it to the workspace?


Thank you in advance for your help.


Kevin

10 REPLIES 10
mlockwood
19-Tanzanite
(To:kbrault1)

Terminology is everything here...

Yes - can do the same but different words.

Intralink 3.x: Check out means "give me the file"

It's all a matter of access rights, and a little bit of life cycle
configurtion too. Access rights can be configured via the Policy
Administrator (see Organisation > Utilities), life cycle via the Life
Cycle Administrator. You can allow/deny checkout/in in any state, you
can allow/deny Set State from/to any state, you can allow/deny Revise
from/to any state. Windchill allows to save your read-only CADdocuments
locally. Maybe Windchill gives you to many options ... OK?


Met vriendelijke groeten, With kind regards, Hugo.

NV Michel Van de Wiele
Carpet and Velvet weaving machines
M. Vandewielestraat 7
8510 Marke, Belgium

Thanks for everyone’s replies. I had an issue with the ACLS’s. Fixed now.


Selecting “Continue” now allows the user to save without a checkout. Still can’t check-in without a “revise and check out” though.

mlockwood
19-Tanzanite
(To:kbrault1)

Can't check in without first Checking Out. Revise is unrelated in this case.

One of the things that makes this extremely difficult is that the permissions (ACL's) do not match well with the user actions that result.


- Delete permission result in the Delete Action being available. This is straightforward and works well. The others not so much.

- Read permission results in being able to search for / browse for things.

- Download is separate from Read and allows users to Download (but for CAD, the action is "Add to Workspace").

- Modify permission allows Check Out, but Modify Content permission is required to change the file.

- Revise permission is needed to execute New Revision, but also Create permission at the resulting state.

It would be absolutely wonderful if PTC published a lookup table of what the user actually experiences as the result of being given various permissions. I started attached a long time ago with this intent but never got back to it.

Hi Mike,

If you ever get back to your ACL documentation project below is some data that I've verified:

Thanks,

Mike Foster
ATK


Object type: EPMDocument

* Create - Required at "to" state to Revise

* Revise - Required at "from" state to Revise

* Modify - Required at current state to Promote

* Modify - Required to modify metadata - Versioned or non-versioned attribute

o Versioned attribute requires permission to create a new iteration

* Modify Content - Required to check in an iteration of a model modified in Pro/E

* Modify Identity - Required to rename "Number" and "Filename"

o Must have Modify Identity permission for all versions of an object
Object type: SubFolder

* Read - Required to navigate through

* Modify - Required to change the contents of a folder

o For example, to create or delete foldered objects or to move objects from one folder to another

* Modify - Required to move a folder

o Create by Move on SubFolder not required for move

o Contents carried along in the folder are not considered moved

o Cannot move (even if empty) to another product (would need Change Context & Change domain)

* Modify Identity - Required to rename a folder

o Nomenclature - Use "Edit" in the pulldown

* Create - Required to create a folder

* Delete - Required to delete a folder

o If not empty permission to delete contents also required
Object type: Cabinet

* Modify permission required to add, move, or remove any object from the Cabinet (top folder of a Product)

o Not required for movement among subfolders

o Required for creating a SubFolder

o Not required for renaming a SubFolder or object in the Cabinet

o Not required for deleting a SubFolder



From: Lockwood,Mike,IRVINE,R&D [
mlockwood
19-Tanzanite
(To:kbrault1)

Thanks very much! I'll at least add this info to what I have.


One clarification note - and it illustrates what a good puzzle this is:
This result (from the user's point of view) is dependent on the Modify ACL if the preference shown below is OTB; and this preference affects all object types that can be promoted. We have the preference set to No and locked because we have multiple states from which we promote where no Modify is allowed.
[cid:image001.png@01CBF831.E4BE3DF0]

[cid:image002.png@01CBF831.E4BE3DF0]

From: Foster, Mike (Goleta) [

* Revise - Required at "from" state to Revise

* Modify - Required at current state to Promote

* Modify...















































akelly
9-Granite
(To:kbrault1)

Using Wildfire 4 and Pro/Intralink 9.1.


Can someone clarify what needs to be set to get the Continue action?


We have our systems (and user training) set up to use default to Continue when starting to modify downloaded CAD Documents. I just started working on new parts in a library and I don't get the Continue action option when I start to edit the downloaded CAD Document; only options are Check out now or Revise and Check out Now.


From the other discussions, it sounds like the ACLs in the library may be different in the library than other products, but I'm stumped on where to begin to enable the Continue option in Pro/E.

avillanueva
15-Moonstone
(To:kbrault1)

I believe there is a preference for allowing locally modified content
(not sure what it is off the top of my head). Continue allows the user
to ignore checking out items and continue modifying files in their
workspace. There is a danger here of not remembering you modified it and
later trying to check in something like a drawing that was affected by
it. The drawing will not look the same in the system since it does not
have your local change to the part model. But having continue is nice
for a what if type scenario.


akelly
9-Granite
(To:kbrault1)

Workspace was locked because I had previously exported a .pws.


I unlocked the workspace and now I get 4 options in Pro/E:



  • Continue

  • Check out now

  • Revise and Check out now

  • Make Read-only

Pro/E messages and conflictsclearly lead me to this revelation (he said sarcastically), so not an ACL issue.

Should be:



dm_checkout_on_the_fly continue





In Reply to Kevin Brault:



Hello everyone,


Our current 3.4 system the users are allowed to save modified objects to the workspace that are at the “Released” release level and thus are read only.


With 9.1 ProE is forced to “Revise and Checkout” before any files can be saved.


Has anyone figured out a work around to being forced to “Revise” a model in order to save it to the workspace?


Thank you in advance for your help.


Kevin






David T. Francis

Announcements
Learn more about how we are using our browser poll here