cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Visit the PTCooler (the community lounge) to get to know your fellow community members and check out some of Dale's Friday Humor posts! X

Can not get Windchill DS to run as a Service on Windows 2008 Server 64Bit

BrianSullivan
8-Gravel

Can not get Windchill DS to run as a Service on Windows 2008 Server 64Bit

Hello.

Has anyone run into an issue getting Windchill DS to install as a Service on a Windows 2008 Server x64.

Windchill DS runs fine as a Program (Can Start and Stop)

When I select Runtime Options/Windows Service/Enable the installation fails. In then suggests I may not have permission to create a Service.

1. I am a created Local Admin with Full Control Permissions but not a domain administrator

2. I am the Owner with Full Control Permission

3. The UAC had been disabled.

Wondering if anyone crossed this error, as it seems to be more of a Windows Error than WindchillDS. PTC Technical Support not grasping that a service would not install. Did not see any open issue at opends.org. And local IT is stumped. The server has an unusual Virus Software/ Has Firewall wondering if they could be blocking....

Apache, Tomcat and Windchill have been converted to Services Successfully.

Brian Sullivan

4 REPLIES 4

Brian,

Just has same trouble this week:

"
The Windchill Service is not starting when using Java 1.6.18, which is delivered with Windchill 9.1 M050, with no error messages.
Resolution
Reinstall the service using the follwoing ant task:

ant -buildfile <windchill>\opt\ntservice\WindchillService.xml install -DserviceName=<servicename>

Override the default memory allocations by adding the following argument to the ant script:

-DmaxHeap=6 (for 64-bit)
-DmaxHeap=3(for 32-bit)

"

Hope it will help
Christophe