cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Can someone explain to me what is PBO?

jfrancis
4-Participant

Can someone explain to me what is PBO?

I am working on workflows and came across PBO - Primary Business Objects and could not get a proper information as to what these are.

"A workflow process is typically launched in the context of a primary business

object (PBO)" .

I am pretty new to windchill so I will need to understand this at a very basic level

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
MikeLockwood
22-Sapphire I
(To:jfrancis)

See attached.

Complex but powerful stuff.

No way around touching many elements of Windchill to get the desired result, but it's magic once you "get it."

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
MikeLockwood
22-Sapphire I

Welcome to documentation written by and for people who "speak Java"

In general, think of the workflow process as walking around your building (routing) and collecting signatures (one of many things that could be in the workflow).  The PBO is the paper form on which the signatures are written.  Paper-clipped to the form may be any number of "affected objects" which will somehow change once the routed form has been completed.

You can have a workflow process directly on "product data" (e.g. CAD and non-CAD documents and / WTParts).  But, best practice and general use is to have the workflow process associated with a "change object" such as a promotion request, change request, etc.  Other situations apply in Project Link and for other types.

The workflow process is initiated when the PBO gets to a state that is mapped to the workflow process in the PBO's lifecycle template.  Change objects have the first state at "Open" and the process starts when the PBO is created.

Thank You Mike!  Your explanation was fantastic.