cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can we able to nullify the changes happens on affected objects during task completion in case of change notice was rejected ?

vuchekar
9-Granite

Can we able to nullify the changes happens on affected objects during task completion in case of change notice was rejected ?

Hi All,

OOTB Windchill change management, we started from problem report and the process got completed after Change notice completion.

1. Create Problem Report - add affected objects if any.

2. Analyze PR.

3. Create Change Request

4. Analyze Change Request.

5. Create Change Notice.

6. Complete the Task - here normally designer will do some modifications/changes on resulting objects to eliminate the issue on affected objects.

7. Reviewer reviews the changes.

8. Audit change notice.. if approved here, all process completed with appropriate changes.

If we add additional routing for Rejecting Change Notice at Audit task, it will simply reject the Change notice as well  respective CR and PR, but the changes which are done during the change task will be remains in system.

How we can revert back these changes which are present on affected objects in case of Change Notice was rejected after change task was completed in system ?

Is any way to tackle this ? Any idea.

Regards,

Vivek

1 REPLY 1

Users in my company complain about this issue. We may write some code in the workflow that cleans up the objects (deletes the UNDER REVISION objects). Doing so will be a bit tricky though as deleting objects gets complicated when there are related objects. I would guess that it would only be capable in select cases. Another challenge will be that the user may have done significant amounts of work on that rejected object. An automated process will not know if it should or should not delete the data.

Another option might be to change the lifecycle state to some sort of quarantine state that removes access so it does not get used generally, but is still around if someone decides to proceed with a change in the future.

Announcements