cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Can you use a Basic Life Cycle with a change notice?

EdSiekman
5-Regular Member

Can you use a Basic Life Cycle with a change notice?

I have created a change notice but don't want to use advanced life cycle but when I use Basic it seems I am not advancing my CAD objects though the workflow but only advancing the workflow itself?  I am new to the workflow creation and think My issue might be right at the beginning because I don't get a task assigned.  Goes straight to my updates?  I would send a screen shot of my workflow but have since deleted it because it didn't work.  Going to start from scratch.  The life cycle I want to use is the OOTB two phase..  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance

Ed

18 REPLIES 18

A workflow can change the lifecycle state of the primary business object using set state robots. Advanced life cycles with a workflow attached to the first lifecycle state's phase are pretty common. The workflow just starts automatically when the object is created in Windchill and this workflow from then on changes states of the object based on how it's defined.

Another common approach is to run a workflow using promotion notice. With that the lifecycle of the object can be basic and the object can be created at anytime, regardless of when the workflow is started.

EdSiekman
5-Regular Member
(To:James62)