cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community email notifications are disrupted. While we are working to resolve, please check on your favorite boards regularly to keep up with your conversations and new topics.

Document Revision in Windchill

Markh74
7-Bedrock

Document Revision in Windchill

Good day

I am new to Windchill and I am trying to synchronize my Windchill Revision numbers with the Documents.

Let me give an example scenario below.

1) Create New Document from local file - A.1

2) Document is edited by user until complete and checked in / replace content - A.2

3) Final draft of document is ready for review and approval, saved as pdf for review and signature. Document Checked in - A.3 and pdf sent out for Review and signature as A.3.

4) 2 weeks later pdf is returned (reviewed, approved and signed as A.3)

5) When i check it in as attachment to Document A.3 it then becomes A.4 but it is not A.4 it is A.3 Signed.

What tips does anyone have to add attachments etc without changing the revision.?

Regards

8 REPLIES 8
Hari_Vara
13-Aquamarine
(To:Markh74)

Hi,

I think in Step 4, the document should have been locked for Edit ("Released" ). Please check if the document in windchill is still in "In Work" state.

If yes, then your approval process should make the document to "Released".

Usually, best practice in the Approval process is to automatically attached the PDF (in a PDF generator).

Basically, as a non-admin user ,you must not be allowed to check out and check in the A.3 document (As it must have been locked ("Released").

DId you check this with a non-admin user is my next question.

We will get there.

Best Regards

Hari

BenLoosli
23-Emerald II

Are you using a Promotion Request workflow?