cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

ECN number without change request??

kc-2
5-Regular Member

ECN number without change request??

I am new to windchill imple. I did my implementation completely for my customer(Installation). Now i am configuring the CAD related things in Windchill like revision,Custom numbering etc.

Below is one of my requirement on workflow,

they need the ecn number with out change request. If i initiate promotion request of the drawing it should go to reviewer and then Approver and got released as per workflow.

But they need ECN number to be enter into the drawing sheet once promotion request initiated. Please give me one solution for that.

10 REPLIES 10
BhushanNehe
14-Alexandrite
(To:kc-2)

I am not sure if I understand your requirement completely. Are you looking to create change notice without change request. If so, you can set the preference Change Management > Change Notice without Change Request to Yes

Regards,

Bhushan

Per what Bhushan said - you can create a CN without a CR by utilizing the preference mentioned.  Also if you are using a CN why would you use a Promotion Request at all.  The Drawing/CAD/Parts should be on the CN and it will control the release of the process.  This is the intended use and is much simpler.

satre-2
1-Newbie

If I understand your question correctly, In drawings title block you have field for entering the Release process number ( i.e. ECN number or promotion request number)

it seems like you are using ECN and promotion request both for releasing the drawing and you want to populate the ECN/PR number on drawing title..

if above is your requirement then, you  can parameter in drawing and use customdownload delete to  pass the process number (ECN or  PR ) to drawing .

for more details see page number 112 from below document.