cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

How to manage tabulated drawings in Windchill?

joe_morton
17-Peridot

How to manage tabulated drawings in Windchill?

I'm a relatively new CAD/Windchill admin and I've been trying to define a best practice for our team on how to manage tabulated drawings. 

Here's a common scenario: an engineer makes a component in some default color, but then later needs to add a second version of that component with a different color. Since there is no change in geometry, there's no need for a new CAD model. Since 99% of the current drawing specifications will apply to the new color design, the engineer wants to reuse the same drawing as well. Typically the engineer will just add a manual table to the existing drawing calling out the different color requirements.

We are using WTParts in Windchill to drive our BOMs, so now I've been getting engineers in the scenario above to create a new WTPart for the new version, and we've also been linking it to the existing CAD model so now the system shows that 1 CAD model is related to those 2 WTParts. 

The trouble I face is in revision control. Right now, we maintain only 1 revision on on drawings, and that revision matches the model's revision. Since we are not using MBD, the drawing is our official documentation to our suppliers.