cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Noobie question on formats

GrahameWard
5-Regular Member

Noobie question on formats

I've been using Pro/Engineer for 562 years, but Windchill is new to me.... still have trouble not thinking like folders and subfolders.

I create a new part and drawing offline, i.e., on my hard drive or on the company server. The drawing has a format with title block, etc. We have this format on the company server (i.e. a drive letter), but the definitive version with the same name is on Windchill. If, when the part and drawing is complete, I check them in to Windchill, what happens to the format file? Does it load up as well? I don't want that to happen. What I want is, next session that I open that drawing (from Windchill) I want the format to come from Windchill, not from the drive.

11 REPLIES 11

If it is configured right ...

When you open the drawing in a session connected to Windchill it should get the format from Windchill and ignore the format that is there on the drive. The reason it should do that is that the drawing has the format name in it and the first place it should look for that name is the local Workspace, then Commonspace, and if not found, then the current directory.

If you first opened the format .frm file and saved it to your workspace, Windchill would show a name conflict and would not allow you to check it in because it wasn't checked out. You could Add the Windchill version, which would overwrite the local version, and, not being new anymore, would also not check in.

Finally, the Admin for Windchill should have set the permissions on formats so that no one can change them without an authorized effort.

It's a great question. Maybe the Cliffs Notes guys could work on a guide.

GrahameWard
5-Regular Member
(To:dschenken)