cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Organization groups vs. Principals Groups

gchampoux
1-Newbie

Organization groups vs. Principals Groups

Is there a significant difference in functionality when defining groups under the Organization tab vs. Utilities > Principals?
Does either of these have functionality not found in the other?
It would seem that PTC added the Group sub-tab under Organization as a convenience, and is redundant.

I'm just getting started with PTC's eLearning for Wiindchill Intralink 9.1, and it does not answer the above questions.
Not does the documentation clarify this.

Gerry

6 REPLIES 6

I've never understood this either, and have never found the difference documented. Please post the answer for all if you find it.

Hi Gerry,

Apart from your specific question, are you satisfied with PTC's
eLearning for Windchill 9.1? I've several colleagues learning ProE
Wildfire 3 with eLearning, with success. But I've never considered this
option for Windchill.

Met vriendelijke groeten,
Kindest regards,

Hugo Hermans

-

NV Michel Van de Wiele
Michel Vandewielestraat 7
8510 Kortrijk (Marke)
Tel : +32 56 243 211
Fax: +32 56 243 540
BTW BE 0405 450 595
RPR Kortrijk

In short: I find that PTC's eLearning for Windchill is barely adequate.
However, for the price ($850for a perpetual license)I can't complain too much.

Itincludes every course (from admin to user)for all Windchill products, not just Intralink.
It would cost at least 10-20 times more to attend "real" classes, especially due to travel costs.
Windchill classes are not taught in the Detroit area.
Each course consists of:
    • Asimple presentation (like PowerPoint) with audio narration.
    • Recorded demonstrations of functionality. (No actual labs)
    • An assessment (test).